WhatsApp wont notify the other person if you archive the conversation, as it doesnt inform them if youve deleted it. It also doesnt have any effect on your online status – all archived chats will still show if youre online.
What happens when you archive and mute someone on WhatsApp?
WhatsApp announced the new archived chats feature on July 27, 2021, through a tweet that can be viewed below. Using the new feature, users can keep archived chats muted for as long as they want, as the chat will not pop up on getting messages or other notifications.
Can someone see if I delete a chat on WhatsApp?
Recipients using WhatsApp for iOS may still have media you sent saved to their Photos, even after the message is deleted from the WhatsApp chat. Recipients might see your message before its deleted or if deletion wasnt successful. You wont be notified if deleting for everyone wasnt successful.
What happens when someone archived you on WhatsApp?
Note: Archiving a chat doesnt delete the chat or back it up to your SD card. Archived individual or group chats will stay archived when you receive a new message from that individual or group chat. You will not receive notifications for archived chats unless you are mentioned or replied to.
Muting a personal chat will only silence messages, not calls. If a muted contact calls you on WhatsApp, your phone will ring and youll get a notification. For muted group chats, youll get a notification when a participant mentions you or sends a reply to your message(s).
What do others see when you delete WhatsApp?
Visibility in Contact Lists After uninstalling the app, WhatsApp wont remove you from your friends chat or contacts list. However, deleting the account will have a different effect for your account isnt detected as an active WhatsApp user. So others wont see you in their WhatsApp contacts.
What happens if someone messages you in an archived chat?
Yes. Once you archive a chat, it merely hides it from the main view and nothing else. So if you receive new messages in the archived chat, you will be notified about it, and the same conversation thread will reappear in the main list. In other words, it gets unarchived automatically.
Can you tell if someone muted you on WhatsApp?
When you mute someone on WhatsApp, they will still be able to send you messages, see your status/last seen, and your profile picture. Youll see that persons messages only when you open WhatsApp. Youll know what person you muted since they will have a crossed-out speaker icon.
Can You Receive Messages from Archived Chats. Yes. Once you archive a chat, it merely hides it from the main view and nothing else. So if you receive new messages in the archived chat, you will be notified about it, and the same conversation thread will reappear in the main list.
Can you temporarily deactivate WhatsApp?
Unfortunately it is only for Android users. Currently, there is no way to pause WhatsApp. So if you temporarily want to not receive any messages on WhatsApp, you can do that through Androids app settings. Here is what you need to do: Go to Setting > Apps > WhatsApp > Force Stop.
What does archiving a chat do?
The archive chat feature allows you to hide an individual or group chat from your chats list to better organize your conversations. Note: Archiving a chat doesnt delete the chat or back it up to your SD card.