Question: Are New World monkeys Platyrrhine or Catarrhine?

New World monkeys are the platyrrhines (“flat-nosed”), a group comprising five families. As their taxonomic names suggest, New World (platyrrhine) and Old World (catarrhine) monkeys are distinguished by the form of the nose.

Are New World monkeys arboreal or terrestrial?

The New World monkeys are a diverse group of small to medium sized arboreal primates. They inhabit a wide range of forest habitats, from Mexico to Argentina.

Are New World monkeys omnivores?

Ecologically, New World monkeys provide an important role in tropical food chains, from southern Mexico in North America to South America. These omnivores consume vegetative material (fruits, nuts, leaves, etc.)

What is a characteristic of New World monkeys?

The noses of New World monkeys are flatter than the narrow noses of the Old World monkeys, and have side-facing nostrils. New World monkeys are the only monkeys with prehensile tails—in comparison with the shorter, non-grasping tails of the anthropoids of the Old World.

Are Old World monkeys diurnal or nocturnal?

Thus, owl monkeys represent a remarkable exception among anthropoid primates (Old World monkeys, New World monkeys, apes, and humans), as the only nocturnal genus.

What animals eat monkeys?

While birds can sometimes eat very small or young monkeys, the predators for larger monkeys can include big cats, crocodiles, hyenas and humans.

Reach out

Find us at the office

Brininstool- Manzella street no. 104, 53061 Zagreb, Croatia

Give us a ring

Caelin Clancy
+62 535 662 464
Mon - Fri, 8:00-21:00

Contact us